College of the Rockies Member of Newly Launched BC Research and Innovation Network

College of the Rockies Member of Newly Launched BC Research and Innovation Network

submitted: Tuesday, April 23, 2013

The Presidents of British Columbia Colleges (BC Colleges) representing 13 institutions in BC and the Yukon announced today the formal creation of a BC Applied Research and Innovation Network (BCARIN).

BCARIN’s mandate is to connect member institutions – their students and faculty – with business and community organizations who seek to solve ‘real world’ problems which demand skill in research and innovation.  BCARIN has launched a web site and network ‘portal’ at and it has appointed its first executive board, Co-Chaired by Thor Borgford, Dean of Science & Technology at Douglas College and Margaret Heldman, Dean of Science at Langara. 

Said Borgford and Heldman, “The BCARIN initiative will grow applied research capacity within the Colleges and fellow institutions, it will produce greater direct engagement of students and faculty with their communities and promote an extensive sharing of knowledge and resources.  Importantly, the network aims to enhance business productivity and improve the outcomes sought by community organizations.”

College of the Rockies’ Vice-President of Education Doug McLachlan comments, “Canadian colleges facilitate innovation that supports job creation and economic growth.  Applied research through BC Colleges encourages creative partnerships that will contribute to expanded and increased student participation.”

Angus Graeme, President of Selkirk College and Chair of BC Colleges notes, “Skilled and educated workers are our most critical resource and BC’s 11 public colleges are focused on ensuring our graduates have the right advanced skills and education to meet labour market demands.  This includes fostering an environment that places an emphasis on applied research and innovation as a means to improved workforce productivity, sustained business and enterprise success, and expanded community engagement.”

Members of BCARIN belong to the Association of Canadian Community Colleges (ACCC) and are accredited to administer funding from the three major Canadian federal granting agencies – the Canadian Institutes of Health research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).

Member institutions include: College of the Rockies, Camosun College, the College of New Caledonia, Douglas College, Justice Institute of BC, Langara, North Island College, Northwest Community College, Northern Lights College, Okanagan College, Selkirk College, Vancouver Community College, and Yukon College. Members offer a broad-range of expertise and experience in research and development, and the required infrastructure to support innovation in industrial, corporate, and community contexts.

For more information contact:

Donna Kraus-Hagerman

Executive Director, College Relations and Marketing

College of the Rockies

Phone: 250-489-8258


Read More: College of the Rockies Member of Newly Launched BC Research and Innovation Network