Jane Murphy Elected as North Island College Board Chair

NIC’s Board of Governors elected Jane Murphy as its new board chair.

“Jane Murphy’s expertise in the community and experience within the NIC Board make her an excellent choice to lead the Board of Governors,” said NIC President John Bowman. “Since joining the board in 2015, she has served as vice chair for two years and been a key member of our executive committee. I look forward to continuing to work together in her new role.”

Murphy is the former CEO of St. Joseph’s General Hospital. She previously held senior executive positions at Langley Memorial Hospital, the South Fraser Health Region and Surrey Health Services, including Surrey Memorial Hospital and Community Health Services.

“It’s a privilege to lead North Island College’s board,” said Murphy. “NIC brings vital education and career training to the communities and First Nations we serve. I look forward to continuing to work with all of our stakeholders and board members to provide relevant and responsive education for our students.”

The board also elected Port Alberni director Eric Mosley as vice chair at the Sept. 27 meeting. The retired lawyer first joined the board in 2017.

“Eric has been one of our most active board members,” Bowman said. “He attends many community events and plays an important role on the board’s finance and audit committee. We are fortunate to have Eric serve as vice chair.”

Bowman also welcomed new board members Barry Minaker and Ross Hunt, representing the Comox Valley and Mount Waddington communities.

Minaker is a former Comox-Strathcona Regional District director who has been actively involved in Comox Valley arts and music organizations, as well as the carpentry local union in Courtenay.

Hunt is a First Nations support worker for the First Nations Education Committee, School District 85 (Vancouver Island North). He is a youth activity coordinator for the Kwakiutl First Nation.

Bowman thanked outgoing chair Derek Lamb for his service.

“Derek has served NIC students and communities well in his position as board chair for the last two years,” said Bowman. “We are thankful his commitment continues as an active board member.”

NIC’s Board of Governors operates under BC’s College and Institute Act. Its eight appointed members include Derek Lamb, Jane Atherton, Rob Everson, Roy Grant, Ross Hunt, Barry Minaker, Eric Mosley and Jane Murphy. They are joined by two elected students, Jennifer Kortlever and Nicholas Schofield, and two elected faculty and staff members, Kim Gibson and Cathy Reyno. Bowman and instructor Dennis Lightfoot, chair of NIC’s Education Council, serve as ex officio board members.

Elections for student, faculty and staff positions are being held this fall, with new representatives expected to join the board in December.

For more information on NIC’s Board of Governors, including member profiles and meeting schedules, visit

Original article from North Island College