Student Engagement Awards honour great contributions

Student Engagement Awards honour great contributions

By Eric Wilkins

A group of Douglas College’s best and brightest gathered for the 2014 Student Engagement Awards on April 10. Held at the Executive Plaza Hotel in Coquitlam, the annual awards recognize those who make significant contributions to the college community.

Keynote speaker Jerome Bouvier’s offered words of inspiration to the promising young men and women. “You’re all just opening the tap; you’re all just starting,” said Bouvier, a college instructor and executive director of the PoCoMo Youth Services Society.

The evening had many highlights. If there was one moment that emphasized the quality of the school’s students, it was the announcement that the Student Ambassadors alone had over 3,400 hours of volunteer service. The banquet also had its share of light moments. Aboriginal Student Services Coordinator Dave Seaweed described Madison Paradis-Woodman, the Aboriginal Student Service Award winner, as “quite flighty when I first met him.” The audience was also treated to some Bhangra dancing and the room energetically clapped along.

The final award presentation, for Leader of the Year, featured a short video that introduced each of the nominees. Hailea Williams, the eventual winner, said: “Douglas College is my community; it’s my home. It’s been that way for the last two years and it feels great to be a role model for other students.”

Blaine Jensen, vice president of educational services, delivered the closing remarks, sharing some words about the importance of student contributions to the school community. “Our logo has the person in the middle—that’s the student in the middle,” he said. “There’s a reason why the student is in the middle because that’s the lifeblood of this college. Because we help people achieve their goals. Congratulations to you and thank you for making Douglas College the most engaged college in British Columbia, soon to be in Canada.”

2014 college-wide award winners

Angela Beltran
Club Excellence Award

Nicola Carter
Community Builder Award

Taranjot Kaur
Campus Engagement Award

Hailea Williams
Leader of the Year Award

Read More: Student Engagement Awards honour great contributions